The Siblings, Nora and Akil Gjakova, won the main prizes at 2018 Laureate Ceremony

Friday,  01 March 2019

The Judoists, Nora and Akil Gjakova are the conquerors of sport in Kosovo for 2018. The siblings won the main prizes in the 2018 Laureate Announcement Ceremony organized last night for the third time by the Kosovo Olympic Committee.
The last year’s European champion and that of the Mediterranean Games Tarragona 2018, Nora Gjakova, won “Female Athlete of The Year” prize in 2018. “It is a great honour for me to become amongst the best athletes of Kosovo,” said Nora.
Whereas, Akil Gjakova who won the gold medal at 2018 Grand Slam in Paris, who became Europe’s Champion of U-23 and also Gold Medallist at the Mediterranean Games Tarragona 2018, won “Male Athlete of the Year” prize in 2018.
Their coach, Driton Kuka, won for the third time the epithet of "Trainer of the Year", but this time the award was shared by his student, Majlinda Kelmendi.
Judo received two more awards. Shpat Zeka was appreciated as “The Greatest Olympic Hope” after becoming Europe’s vice-champion for juniors. While the same award but in women's competition was given to Erza Muminovic, the bronze medallist from the Youth Olympic Games "Buenos Aires 2018" and European champion for cadets. Both stressed that the award motivates them for further successes.
The national football team was declared as the best one after the success of last year when no losses were caused. The award was received by the coach Bernard Challandes.
“Special Prize” was awarded to the Karate national team in women’s competition, who took the seventh place in the world and the second in Balkan.
The President of the Kosovo Olympic Committee, Besim Hasani, in his speech, cited the great promotion that sport and sportsmen are doing to the country of Kosovo in the international arena.
Minister Kujtim Gashi spoke about the continuous support of the Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sport, while he considered last year as the most successful one.
For all the prize-winners, the prizes of 500-2000 Euros were awarded, as well as the "Illyrian Racer" prize.


Follow us